Product Placement: A Necessary Evil

“If you really think about it, when watching television, you have product placement all the time.”

-Jay Chiat

Product placement, the bane of all mankind, or a necessary evil? This is something many wonder today. One quick google search and we find all kinds of product placement in many of the movies we love. Some good examples are as follows- Reese’s Pieces in E.T., Audi in the Iron Man Trilogy, Starbucks in Fight Club, IKEA in Deadpool, and Coca-Cola and Eggo Waffles in Stranger Things.

Personally, I believe product placement, while sometimes annoying, is often a necessary evil to get a movie production rolling. Oftentimes movies will have these items on screen because they help give more money to the overall production of the film therefore increasing the budget of the film and allowing us, the viewers, a chance to see a great blockbuster film (that is provided you like films). I feel like overall product placement doesn’t really do harm to a movie. It is for this same reason that I do not find it all that annoying as well.

Should we worry about product placement? While I have major concerns about mega corporations controlling the media, in the case of product placement, my answer is no. In no way have I experienced that product placement is really something to be worried about and is oftentimes a necessary evil to produce a given film, television series, or other produced media works. While the dangers of mega corporations owning the media, is an issue I feel strongly about, I feel the sponsorship of big budget productions is a safe acceptable way to get your products out there for sale. I think I would much rather deal with 5 seconds of product placement than 15 plus minutes of commercials.

 

(Video Credit to Movieclips on YouTube)

 

 

Tagged chapter 11, page 296, “Questioning The Media”

 

 

2 thoughts on “Product Placement: A Necessary Evil

  1. I like that you mentioned Eggo Waffles in Stranger Things. I think it is one of the most well done examples of product placement that I have seen. Seeing Eleven eating them didn’t throw me off like some product placement in movies and shows have done.

    Like

  2. I had never thought about product placement in the way you mentioned here. I always thought that it was unethical but if that is really necessary for the production, I don’t mind seeing some ads during the movie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

